News

23-Nov-2022

Apply to Host a Summer 2023 Discovery Camp!

Apply to Host a Summer Discovery Camp!

UMAP member institutions are welcomed to apply to host a Discovery Camp program in Summer 2023! 

What is the Discovery Camp Program?  Discovery Camps are  immersive intercultural experiences during the summer or winter months, typically lasting 7-10 days.  The host institutions organize the content and pay for all in-country expenses (tuition, accommodation, meals, field trips, etc.), so  that a diversity of students from around the UMAP consortium can attend.  Discovery Camps enable UMAP member institutions and countries to showcase their countries and cultures to students from across the UMAP network.

Interested in applying to host a Discovery Camp?  The hosting application is now open, with a deadline of January 13, 2023 for programs taking place in Summer 2023.  Please use this link to access the application:   https://forms.gle/nUtKyHeRY9BmyG8Z8    Applications to host Discovery Camps will be reviewed by UMAP’s Strategic Planning and Sustainable Development Goals Taskforce.  Please note that this is a competitive process and it may not be possible to select all applicants.

Have questions? Join a virtual Discovery Camp Information and Q&A Session to learn more!

UMAP Discovery Camp Summer 2023 – Information Sessions
  1. (Americas) Thursday Dec 8, 2022:  11:00 (Vancouver), 13:00 (Mexico City, Regina), 14:00 (Bogota, New York), 16:00 (Santiago)
  2. (Asia) Friday Dec 9, 2022: 10:00 (Hanoi, Jakarta), 11:00 (Kuala Lampur, Manila, Ulaanbaatar), 12:00 (Seoul, Tokyo)

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/97128951242?pwd=d1lLSXZHZThnTnkxZ3FpOC9IdDRFUT09

Meeting ID: 971 2895 1242
Passcode: 137429

 

 

 

04-Nov-2022

UMAP-COIL Training Program 2022-23 – Apply now to participate!

The UMAP Networking and Partnership Development Initiative continues into 2023, following two successful virtual networking sessions with UMAP members from around the consortium. 

In Phase 2 of the initiative, interested participants are invited to apply for the “UMAP-COIL Training Program” a three-week online Introduction to COIL course, offered by Keiko IKEDA, Professor/Vice-Director, Kansai University’s Institute for Innovative Global Education (IIGE) and trusted training experts.  The program is co-sponsored by the UMAP Canada National Secretariat, BC Council for International Education.

The online program will cover topics including:  Introduction to COIL, overview of technology and tools, how to find a partner, designing a course, and evaluation.  The course will take place from January 16-February 3, 2023 and will include three mandatory synchronous 90-minute classes:

  1. Thursday January 19 (4:30pm, Vancouver / 6:30pm, Mexico City / 9:30pm Santiago) / Friday January 20 (6:00am, Delhi /7:30am, Surabaya/ 8:30am, Manila / 9:30am, Tokyo)  
  2. Thursday January 26 (4:30pm, Vancouver / 6:30pm, Mexico City / 9:30pm Santiago) / Friday January 27 (6:00am, Delhi /7:30am, Surabaya/ 8:30am, Manila / 9:30am, Tokyo
  3. Thursday February 2 (4:30pm, Vancouver / 6:30pm, Mexico City / 9:30pm Santiago) / Friday February 3 (6:00am, Delhi /7:30am, Surabaya/ 8:30am, Manila / 9:30am, Tokyo) 

All interested faculty, staff, and administrators from  UMAP member institutions are invited to apply.  A maximum of 80 participants can be included in the course, therefore, we may not be able to include all applicants.  The deadline for applications is December 2, 2022. Selected applicants will be informed by December 19, 2022.
 
Click Here to Apply Now!

The Phase 2 UMAP-COIL training program is a pre-requisite for anyone interested in participating in the Phase 3, course development seminar, scheduled to take place in April 2023

03-Nov-2022

Fall 2023 Application timeline now open

The Fall 2023 Program A/B Timeline is now open.  Institutions interested in participating in the Fall 2023 application cycle may upload their program offerings from now until December 7, 2022 for the first application cycle and until March 30, 2023 to participate in the second application cycle.

USCO2 will be open to student applicants and institutional nomination from December 9, 2022 to January 31, 2023 for the first application cycle and from April 3 through April 27 for the second application cycle.

For complete timeline details, please visit:  https://umap.org/timelines/  or select Timelines from the menu after you log in to USCO2.

Remember that to be eligible to send students on Program A/B exchanges, you must offer a Program A/B exchange opportunity at your institution.

27-Sep-2022

AMPEI: Asociacion Mexicana Para la Educacion Internacional “Speed Dating” Networking Opportunity

UMAP member institutions in Canada, Mexico, and the US are invited to participate in AMPEI-PIC:  The Asociacion Mexicana Para la Educacion Internacional Program for the Internationalization of Curricula.   The goal of this program is to support tri-lateral (Canada, Mexico, US) teams of faculty in Collaborative Online International Learning.  “Academic Speed Dating” sessions will take place on four dates in September and October, to help interested faculty find partners. 

During the event, participants are expected to make a short presentation of their academic background followed by a short description of the COIL component they would like to implement.  After the introduction to the session, there will be the chance for participants to introduce themselves to several small break-out rooms. This will be the space to share your ideas and find a COIL teaching partner!

Please see the image below for more details on dates and how to register to participate.

26-Sep-2022

Final week to apply and nominate for Winter/Spring 2023 Program A/B Exchanges

Students must submit their applications *and* institutions must complete their nomination decisions no later than October 3, 2022 for the Winter/Spring 2023 application cycle.  Log in to USCO2 now to complete your activities: https://usco2.umap.org/.

21-Sep-2022

Maintenance on UMAP.org website 09/25

Sunday morning, September 25 (Vancouver timezone), the UMAP.org website may be temporarily unavailable as we implement updates and upgrades.  If you are not able to use the website, please check back shortly – we should be back online soon!

25-Aug-2022

Just one week left to upload program A/B offerings for Winter/Spring 2023

The USCO2 platform is currently open for Winter/Spring 2023 Program A/B uploads.  Some reminders:

  • All program offerings must be submitted by September 2nd! 
  • Students from your institution will only be eligible to apply for programs if you have uploaded a program A/B offering from your institution.
  • USCO2 will open for student applications and institutional nominations from September 6-October 3, 2022.
  • If a student from your institution applies for a program, you must complete your nomination of the student before the application deadline.

Please note – in order to receive system notifications of nominations or applications needing decisions, you must have a coordinator listed in the USCO system.  Please do not upload a program offering without also entering coordinator information!

03-Aug-2022

UMAP 2022 Research Net competition, open now

UMAP instituted the UMAP Research Net program to promote research collaboration and facilitate cooperation among member institutions across the network. Cross-border higher education opportunities around the world have grown considerably through the mobility of students, academic staff, programs/institutions, and professionals. Driven by this global trend, Research Net aims to promote academic mobility and collaboration, and to promote effective interaction and exchange among scholars, researchers, and educators across cultures. 

The 2022 Research Net Theme is: UN Sustainable Development Goals and Student Mobility in Asia and the Pacific. The scope of the proposed research project should be designed to be completed within 6 months. Potential topics include, but are not limited to: 

  1. Research related to student mobility programs or intercultural experiences focused on the UN Sustainable Development Goals, ideally at UMAP member institutions; 
  1. Research related to UMAP student exchange in the Asia-Pacific region; 
  1. Research related to capacity building and partnership development in UMAP member institutions for Collaborative Online International Learning (COIL) or other virtual exchange models. 

For complete details and the link to the online application, please visit the Research Net page.  

Proposal submission deadline, October 7, 2022

29-Jul-2022

Program A/B Winter 2023, application and nomination deadline soon!

The deadline for students to apply for the first cycle of Winter/Spring 2023 Program A/B opportunities is August 4, 2022.  Please remember that institutions must also nominate their student applicants by that same deadline.

Students and Institutions wishing to participate in Winter/Spring 2023 who were not able to take part in the first application cycle will have another chance with the second application cycle!  The second cycle is open for institutions to post their program offerings until September 2, 2022 and the platform will open to student applicants from September 6 to October 3, 2022.